BRASA Lifetime Contribution Award

BRASA’s Lifetime Contribution Award (LCA) recognizes a leader in the field of Brazilian studies with both a record of outstanding scholarly achievement and significant contributions to the promotion of Brazilian studies in the United States. It is awarded every two years, corresponding with the BRASA Congress.

Call for Nominations for the BRASA Lifetime Contribution Award

The Brazilian Studies Association (BRASA) is pleased to announce the call for nominations for the BRASA Lifetime Contribution Award. We invite members of the Brazilian studies community to submit their nominations for the seventh recipient of this prestigious award, which will be presented at the BRASA XIV International Conference, to be held at PUC-Rio, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, July 25-28, 2018.

Reflecting the primary mission of BRASA, the goal of this award is to recognize an individual with both a record of outstanding scholarly achievement and significant contributions to the promotion of Brazilian studies in the United States. The BRASA Executive Committee especially wishes to emphasize the criterion of lifetime contributions.

Nominees can be from any discipline or nationality but must have spent the greater part of their career involved in U.S.-based Brazilian studies activities. Nominees need not be members of BRASA.

Nominations will be reviewed by a BRASA award committee and voted on by the BRASA Executive Committee. The recipient will be announced before BRASA XIV in 2018. The recipient will also be invited to address the Congress. The BRASA vice president will present the recipient with a plaque of appreciation.

Nominations should consist of one substantial letter of recommendation outlining the accomplishments and contributions of the individual; a CV; and a list of five references prepared to provide additional letters, if necessary. Materials can be either in English or Portuguese. One nomination per individual is sufficient. No self-nominations or posthumous nominees will be accepted.

The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2018. Nominations and questions should be emailed to <>

Victoria Langland

Associate Professor of History; Director, Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, University of Michigan

Executive Committee Member, BRASA

Chair, BRASA Lifetime Contribution Award Committee


The other members of the committee are:

Christopher Dunn,

Director of Undergraduate Studies in Portuguese, Professor of Brazilian Literary and Cultural Studies, Tulane University

Executive Committee Member, BRASA


Ana Lucia Araujo,

Professor of History, Howard University

Executive Committee Member, BRASA


Past Winners:
2016: Jon M. Tolman
2014: Maxine Margolis
2012: Richard Graham
2010: Werner Baer
2008: Gregory Rabassa
2006: Thomas Skidmore